Large Tattoo Stencil

Discussion in 'Designs & Stencils' started by toetoe62, 17 Feb 2011.

1. toetoe62

toetoe62 Donator Premium

To do a large tattoo, something like a full back or chest is it best to draw the outline on first or do you still make a stencil, I’m asking this because everything like the tracing paper comes in the same size a4, which is to small, so what is the best way to do it.

Regards
    Tony

2. akka

akka Premium

uk
    Ben
    you can buy greaseproof paper in a roll (for baking) i actualy find it to work better for stencils and you can just cut to watever size you want :thumbsup:

3. WilD

WilD Premium

UK
    Dawn
    how does that work then? can you buy the 'carbon' type copy in big sheets just on it's own? - sorry may be common knowledge, but I am still new to all this!

4. akka

akka Premium

uk
    Ben
    not sure on the carbon paper you culd allways tape 2 sheets together on the back
    ill ask if i can get it eny bigger next time i go to the staitionary place
    i normaly just get carbon paper in a4 sheets

5. toetoe62

toetoe62 Donator Premium

large tattoos

thanks for the reply, i'm not to bothered about the carbon paper because at that stage you can just put two pieces under the grease proof paper and if you miss a bit where the gap is you can just go over the bits that are missing, I have even some times on small designs not used tracing paper at all and just made a copy of the design and put the carbon striate under the copy and done it that may but with a large piece I think you need to see through the tracing paper to make sure it's in the correct position. When I first got into tattooing I thought it will cost about £200 but it's amazing what you don't realise you will need to buy, just to do the job.

6. Starbuck42

Starbuck42 Premium

UK
    Kevin
    Tracing paper can be bought on large rolls from Staples, and even on FEEbay.