Aussie Ink Lord

First Name
Du Plessis
Hey everybody!

My name is Du Plessis, my instagram is Ink_Lord_Swescki. Ive been tattooing for 4 years now. I've been drawing ever since i was a kid, in fact I designed tattoos for friends well before I turned 18. I'm self taught but didn't start straight away on friends. Practised on pig skin and fruit but prefer the latter as it gives a real indication of trouble points of the body due to high curvature (elbow, knee, etc.). Friends noticed my improvements so I started basic small stuff. I believe what helped me 'excel' at this craft was my previous experience painting sneakers, life drawing sessions, graphic/textile design and more! I didn't know these would help me proceed into tattooing.

My style is Ignorant Black Linework, its the style of the future IMO. Designs are comedic-occultic, ethereal, or just weird.

Did a lot of home jobs, going to friends places and setting up shop. The longest session I did was about 9 hours of a few friends which was cool, but sitting on milk crates made my butt look like a grilled steak.

I always approached every job with hygiene in mind, disposables only, machine and bottle bags, dental bibs, etc. which REALLY makes things easier, but I would love to source more sustainable solutions.

Biggest achievements was being a resident tattoo artist for a friend's Warehousey-gig event which included cool hip hop acts from local music scene & resident tattoo artist at some fashion show with a designer from New York which brought in heaps of business.

I work on all shapes, sizes and colours, I believe in skill segmentation to better myself. Ive found fit people tend to complain about pain alot which is a little funny.

COVID-19 changed my life. Lost my job, put an ad out online and got a few clients, one of which is a business owner who is opening up a shop literally near the centre of my city which is an amazing opportunity for me (once our lockdown ends).