Welcome To Help Me Tattoo

To get the most from our website you will first need to register.
Some areas will be locked for Premium members only, so if you like what you see, please consider an upgrade.

Register Log in

Building Grey Levels

balooka

Donator  
Premium
First Name
Jay
Hi, I could use some help or information about building grey levels. I think my understanding about this is wrong. I am a graphic designer and use photoshop on a daily basis on a professional level and I’m used to blend colors using different values on top of each other. I figured that by using a very light greywash I could build levels of grey to a certain value before switching to a darker wash. I’m not sure my approach to this is correct. My practical problem is that my lightest wash is too dark for my liking. I’m using sumi light grey wash and I dilute that a lot with water. It’s still too dark on my first pass using a mag. I’ve tried a few different washes, speed and mags (not rounded). Oh I am using fake skin, my butcher forgot to save pig skin for me this week.

Any hints to what I am doing wrong? I’m using a rotary and the speed is 80-90 using a cheyenne power unit. Was looking at an instruction vid and that guy used a hawk pen with a curved mag running 120-130... that 10-11 volts he says. I use that for lining so I’m really confused now.

Thanks

Goldwingdaz

Donator  
Premium
First Name
Daz
In my experience with practice skins, any shade you get with washes or mixes on the rubber would be much lighter on real living skin, i found same with pigskin mostly. Just my findings, not necessarily gospel ;)

balooka

Donator  
Premium
First Name
Jay
Hmm weird... to me it looks like it's going from say 5% to 50% in 2 passes. It's either very light or dark and not a whole lot in between. Could it be that with fake skin, the needles find the same punctures again instead of making new ones?

Thanks!

marked 4 life

Donator +++ 
Donator  
Premium
Media
First Name
Andy