Welcome To Help Me Tattoo

To get the most from our website you will first need to register.
Some areas will be locked for Premium members only, so if you like what you see, please consider an upgrade.

Register Log in

Going From Practice To Tattooing Real Skin

First Name
Anders
Hi. Sorry if this is the wrong place or this question has been up before (sure it has but I couldnt find anything on searching)

(SKIP TO LOWER FOR ACTUAL QUESTION)

Ive been drawing all my life and the last couple of years i got really in to tattooing. The simplification it often takes to draw something that will work as a tattoo. And the hard work it takes to translate pencil drawing to tattoo. I am really impressed by people who can draw as if they did pencil drawing, on skin. Also the layering, be it realism or oldschool or whatever. The whole process is pure fascination. As i studied i of course did tons of drawings. First copying and slowly building up habits and specific drawing techniques (especially for oldschool/neo)

I lOve how there are these classic motives, that almost always are the same, but slightly different from artist to artist. (Panthers, gypsies, roses, etc)

Over the years ive gotten better and better, and after inheriting a full machine set, i started training on various stuff. Today i tattooed my leg and well, it suck ed, but not as bad as i thought.

(QUESTION PART)

Anyhoot.. My question is..

What are peoples thoughts on the ethics regarding tatting other people. I have tons of friends, saying stuff like "just practice on me". I bet everyone here knows that sentence, but when should u, if ever, agree to that??

My friend who is a pro, let me set up his stand loads of times, and he tells me i could do it with him present and only do simple and small (ish) stuff, that people can have covered. How ever i am worried about accepting my friends "free canvas".