Help with Lining and Colour Packing

NathanA

Basic
First Name
Nathan
Hey everyone, im pretty new to tattooing, ive done a few on myself but ive been stuck with a problem i cant seem to fix, i started by practicing on pig skin, and when i washed all the excess ink off, the tattoo went patchy, so i went over it a few times, forgetting that i couldnt do this on human skin because of over working it, so i decided i would try tattooing myself on my thighs, and i have the same problem, except now, my outline is all faded, and the colour is extremely patchy, i have used pre-set coil machines, i have set up coil machines, and i have used a rotary machine, all to no avail, can anybody try and help me? could it be depth? or my ink? any help apreciated! thanks :D
- Nathan

Remove Ads

ASH13

Basic
First Name
TWM
Im having the same problem. Its probably just a lack of experience. But Ive noticed I do a better job with round shaders than mags, what are you using?

NathanA

Basic
First Name
Nathan
Probably lack of experience or wrong set up on my end, i know im doing something wrong, i just dont know what :/ and i use rounds, not really practiced with mags yet, i used a 4F the other day, and i had more trouble than it was worth haha, i couldnt get anything into the piggy with that :(

toetoe62

Premium Plus
First Name
Tony
I would certainly forget about mags and flat needles for now and stick with 3 or 5 liner and 7 or 9 round shader, just until you find your feet, I did it by concentrating on my line work first and then moved on to colour and shading.