Hi! A Total Newcomer - Willing to Listen and Learn!

WilD

Premium
First Name
Dawn
Thread starter #1
Hi,
my name is Dawn. I am a Fine Artist and have been drawing and painting for as long as I
can ever remember. Last year I completed a Fine Art Degree, and have decided I would now like to follow a long held dream - by learning to tattoo.
Now... I am not taking this lightly.. I realise it is a true skill, and I truly admire great tattoo artistry. Tattoo is an art form in itself, and I feel often goes un-recognised.
My aim is to take my own art making a step further - the body becoming my canvas.

I am joining this forum in the real hope to form attachments and friendships with those of you who will not mock a beginner - who can help and advise me on my new journey.

Many sites are aggressive, rude and derogatory to beginners - but how can we learn?
How did you all begin? Surely everyone started from nothing? So... I am after some help and support here.... please?
This is a genuine first post - I am being totally open and honest.

I need to buy equipment... where do I start?

Sl1pperyweasel

Get more ink..
Donator
Premium
First Name
Graham
Hello, I am a beginner myself & have found all the info & people on this site very helpful. Hopefully you will too.
If you havnt already I would advise becoming a premium member as there is a lot of very useful info in the manual & within the members area.

As a start I get alot of my gear from these sites.

http://www.tattookit.co.uk/Default.asp

http://www.thetattooshop.co.uk/

Morrisons sell rolls of pigskin (sold as crackling for yr sunday roast!) which apart from humans is the best thing to practice on. you get 3 rolls for abt 60p.

Sl1pp.

WilD

Premium
First Name
Dawn
Thread starter #3
Cheers Sl1pp,

I'll take a look at the sites you mention - and get myself off to Morries for some pig skin - can't wait to have a go... dead excited!

First Name
Mark
Cheers Sl1pp,