hi all new and not new,all advice welcome

Ronan73

Premium
First Name
Ronan
I'm a very young looking 47 and only started tattooing this year. Not bragging..Age and looks is relevent...but yeah thats me in that avatar..youre welcome.lol...just being silly.
I've been a part time artist for 30 yrs and went to get into tattooing 20 yrs ago but got offered a good engineering job. After second bout of cancer 2 yrs ago and having spent the whole of last year in hospital and after several touch and go moments i thought sod it..follow your heart. I've had to take medical retirement but I dont want to retire at such a young age even if i wont live to see my real retirement age.

So during my last tattoo I got chatting to the guy (wont name him here), I pulled out my portfolio and started quizzing him. Luckily he was super super friendly. He said I was very talented but then I told him my age and suddenly he didn't have room for another apprentice. He was very nice but obvious I was too old. maybe I should have lied. Later he did sell me some of his equipment and personal books at a knock down price and told me to just start tattooing because thats what he did and now hes very successful. Like I say , he was very very nice. Due to cancer I am super anal when it comes to cleanliness and even have to do my own IVs at home (CF) when necessary so infection control and cross contamination is something I know a lot about. I also did infection control a few yrs ago and plan on doing it again to get it in date.

I joined this amazing site to carry on my education. Even though I cant seem to get a tattoo apprenticeship I do know how to learn. And I having read many many horror stories related to apprenticeships or slave labour I dont think ive missed too much. After loads of fake skin tattoos with good quality machines,a few tattoos on myself and others, less than 5. but loads of books, dvds, 100s of hours drawing, youtube and now this site will get me to where i want to be.