Welcome To Help Me Tattoo

To get the most from our website you will first need to register.
Some areas will be locked for Premium members only, so if you like what you see, please consider an upgrade.

Register Log in

Ink not going into skin: apprenticeship saga

Ari Ed

Premium
First Name
Ari
I will begin this by saying I'm an apprentice, this is my story of today that maybe will help someone else. Any more experienced people feel free to correct/chime in;

First client of the day, probably 4th piece on an actual human, 6/7th if you count on myself. Piece was a jellyfish.

Shaved, washed, alcohol, stencil, dry, Vaseline, set up machine while drying, make chit chat. 7RL, black lining ink. Did the first line..barely took hold. Tried again..wiped, no line, skin is already flaring. (yes I know some are probably in horror right now! I was).

Pulled owner over under pretence of power supply glitching, quietly told him my issue, took a verbal beating.. he told me to up to 8V (the magic number right?) and walked off.

Tried again, still same issue. No bleeding, just ink not holding. Tried getting owner, but shrugged off told to go to 8.8.

Switched needles, new disposable tip, tried different line.. faint grey line but definitely not black. I'm sweating, the client is saying it's even more painful now. Pulled other guy (not owner). Told me to hold machine more vertical and more ink, another verbal beating. Still no dice. Try deeper. Against better judgement so help me I tried it. More swelling, I'm in horror. Got told to just go over the lines a few times each and took the verbal beating to refuse.

The skin was red, and while owner told me to keep going I knew something wasn't right. Told client that my power supply was still glitching, was very sorry but would have to reschedule for a couple days time, discount would be given etc.