• Later today, the site will be offline for essential server upgrades. This upgrade should run without any problems. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Issue with Packing Black on Practice Skin

learner

Basic
First Name
I have a problem that I do not know what is causing it?

Whenever I try to pack solid black onto silicone practice skin I cannot get it to look solid dark black. It looks very dull grey almost. I am using a 13 magnum M1 and I even tried doing very tight circles and very slow hand movement (so slow that it will chew up skin if was on real skin) to see if it was technique issue but I still cannot get a solid dark black within 2-3 passes. I almost have to do atleast 8-more passes to get it near dark black and by that time the fake skin looks messed up.

Does anyone know what is causing this problem? I have seen other people packing black on fake skin and they are able to get it dark within 2-3 passes.

DKJ

Premium
Media
First Name
Mathieu
thetattooyoyo
I have no experience on fake skin, but i guess that black/color packing must be very difficult, since you're asking a liquid (ink) to pack between plastic "cells", while in real skin, it's packing into fluids.

I wouldn't care that much if your packing technique is good, but let's hear what the other members have to say.

Peace,

DKJ

Cyberthrasher

Premium
First Name
Allen
First off, it's fake skin. Depending on which practice skin you're using, you may not even be able to get it. It takes practice either way. Turn your machine hit up while maintaining your current hand speed. Better but not good? Adjust either hand speed or machine hit until it gets better. If your machine is hitting harder and now you're chewing things up, move your hand faster while maintaining consistent tight circles. But, when it comes down to it, fake skin will always require a MUCH slower approach than human flesh. Always keep that in mind as you move forward.

KyleBl4ck

Premium
Media
First Name
Kyle
MrSinister2099