• Later today, the site will be offline for essential server upgrades. This upgrade should run without any problems. Sorry for the inconvenience.

New To Drawing - Line And Eye Control

learner

Basic
First Name
Hi all,

I am very new to drawing and want to pursue tattooing in the late future.

1 ) I have been practicing drawing really long straight lines but I am confused. Some people say when drawing straight lines to look at the destination point and not the pencil tip. But is this the same with tattooing? Because I heard tattooing you have to look at your gun tip. So which is the right way I should practice when drawing straight lines on paper that will also help me apply it to tattooing later on.

Where should my eyes be looking at when drawing a long straight line on paper? (share some tips)

Thanks!

Last edited:

MalligaMallan

Premium Gold
Media
First Name
Malin
@tattoo.morth.art
You don't have to look at your tip when tattooing. There are different ways to do things, you can read and watch about as many as possible, then you try for yourself and find what works best for you 🙂

The only things you have to do when tattooing, is finding the right depth, and not overwork the skin.

gadsden1776

Premium
First Name
n
when i paint & draw i generally look where i want to go. but i have been doing it so long the airbrush or pencil is truly an extension of my hand.

when i started tattooing i was taught to look at the needle. there is true benefit there as you really need to see your stencil line through the stretch/distortion/vibration. it's also important for judging skin condition, line saturation, angle, etc.... it gives you feedback as to if you are doing things correctly or not. that said, it is not nearly as fluid or natural for me. once my line work is finished however i tend to treat my needles more like brushes & look at the bigger picture rather than focus on the tip.