New to Tattooing...need Some Assistance :)

First Name
Dale Aaron Percival
Hey there everyone I apologize in advance for being a newbie and I imagine there's going to be alot of information and such that I will not know so bare with me haha.

Right, I'm going to be starting sort of apprenticeship style work placement at a tattoo shop near by and the time has come to be looking at equipment.

So first things first, the machine.... I'm not entirely sure what to look for when looking for a tattoo machine. As I'm only a beginner anyone got any recommendations?

Same goes for the other stuff really (power supply etc).

Any help would be great!

Remove Ads

jamesb

Premium
First Name
james
hi dale :D
ok not sure why you appologiseing for tbh lol every1 got to start somewhere ;) u say your doing an appretiship at a shop??? can i ask why your mentor aint pointing you in the right direction?+in a way why aint you asking him his advice :icon_confused: lol,,,, if you are in an apprentiship you obviously know the tattoo game is for you so thats a big help ;) i think if i was to go back to the start of my journey i would deffo side step the "kits" and buy individual components ;) get yourself 1st off 3 quality machines "liner,shader,packer" then your power supply components "power supp,clipcord,footswitch" then i gues depending on your situation if you have acess to an autoclave decide if you are going to use disposable grips and tips or stainless steel setup if your still working on piggy" get yaself a set of "imortal inks" or similar (cheap) but would advise you upgrade your ink wen you move on to "real skin" ;)
dude dont appologise for asking questions its how we learn and progress :D fire away with any questions and im sure if i cant help you some 1 on here will every1 keen to help each other on here dude ;)
p.s welcome aboard dude :D

First Name
Dale Aaron Percival
Thanks for the reply :)