• Later today, the site will be offline for essential server upgrades. This upgrade should run without any problems. Sorry for the inconvenience.

Weak lines

Sleeculross

Basic
First Name
Sian
Hi! I'm a tattoo apprentice and have been for almost a year. Have practiced on the studio boss, myself and my boyfriend. We are currently in lockdown due to Covid and I've been practicing on myself but still seem to have some weak lines. Just wondering how I can get to doing one pass lines that aren't shaky? It doesn't matter what needle I use, I've tried 5rl, 9rl and 11rl. I always get "ghost lines" and it seems as though the lines I do aren't full lines, they just look like thinner lines making it up kind of thing. I've tried different volts when practicing on fake skin and found 9 was good for my hand speed but in actual skin it is way different.

Also for context I use a Dragonhawk Mast Tour.

Tia!

Last edited:

gadsden1776

Premium
First Name
n
Looks like depth & angle could be a problem - however take that with a grain as I am by no means at a level that I can distinguish a lot of errors. If you have a large group & the angle is too extreme not all of the needles will make full penetration. I find that a problem & get similar results to what you posted when I am trying for super bold lines w/like a 14rl.

no experience w/fake skin - but i understand that you slow down on fake... so try increasing your machine speed on human whilst keeping your hand speed similar to what you do now. pay attention to the skin though for sure.

how is your stretch? if the skin is too loose then you wont get good/even penetration & it can be wobbling all over... making the stencil hard to follow.

sometimes shaky lines are just a shaky hand. can you trace that on tracing paper with a sharpie & get a solid line? can you do it while maintaining constant hand speed & pen angle? There are some good drills here posted by some of the more experienced/shop guys.

TexasPT

Premium Gold
Media